More Mayhem in the Kitchen!

Hey there! I sure hope you are having a good day! I sure hope I’m having a good day as I am writing this Monday night with the intention of posting it on Tuesday!

I felt like quite the little Martha Stewart yesterday spending about an hour in the kitchen creating another soup recipe from The Clean Food cookbook. Today’s recipe was Autumn Harvest Soup.

To start out it said you were suppose to boil 4 dried shitake mushrooms in 6 cups of water and then let simmer for 15 minutes. I realized that I didn’t buy dried mushrooms but fresh mushrooms. I wasn’t sure what to do but I just went with what I had.

100_1695

While those were simmering away I prepared the other ingredients. Isn’t the kale (green stuff) beautiful! I really need to find more mays to use kale. It’s such a powerhouse vegetable!

100_1697

The bottle that is turned the wrong way is rice vinegar. You were suppose to use mirin which I guess is a sweet Japanese vinegar but it’s SUPER expensive. Next up sauteing the onion, garlic, and ginger (not pictured).

100_1696

Add in the carrots.

100_1698

Then add the kale, beans, and vinegar.

100_1699

I guess the whole mushroom process was done in order to create a broth. You add the “mushroom water” to the veggies and then let simmer for about 7 minutes.

100_1700

You were also suppose to add apple cider vinegar and tamari bother of which I didn’t have. I actually didn’t eat this soup for lunch. I got home from an appointment round 12:30 and was SUPER hungry. I knew there was no way I could wait to make this soup so I had some of the carrot soup from Sunday.  I did portion out this soup for lunches this week.

100_1701 It looked pretty but I did take a little taste and it was pretty bland. I’m pretty sure using dried mushrooms would have made a difference as well as the mirin, apple cider vinegar, and tamari. Oh well, I guess I’ll just have to spice it up myself with some salt and pepper.

100_1702

I have my first training run for the Disney Half Marathon planned for Tuesday after work. It’s just 4 easy miles. You check out my training plan here. I decided to go with the Intermediate plan since this will be my second half marathon and to keep things interesting. Hope you’re having a great day!

Leave a Reply

