We’re Really Cook’n Now!

Hey there! Happy Monday to you! Are you ready for the week ahead? Today is my day off and there as been some MAJOR cleaning going on at this house! By 10:15am I had run the dishwasher, done a load of laundry, walked the dog, cleaned the bathroom, vacuumed the carpets and the furniture, scrubbed the bathroom and porch floors, AND the most scary job of all, moved the stove and cleaned underneath it…GROSS! Oh the joys of owning a small house it’s so quick and easy to clean!

Last night I got my groove on in the kitchen using some healthy inspiration from this book:

100_1684

I love that it is divided by seasons using ingredients that are plentiful during each season. I try to cook a few recipes from it each season. You can read about other recipes I’ve tried here, here, and here.

My only complaint about the book is sometimes it calls for ingredients that are VERY expensive ($10 for a bottle of mirin!) and I’m not always sure if I’ll use them again so sometimes I make substitutions. The recipe I made last night had a very simple ingredient list and I just happened to have everything on hand!

100_1683

100_1682

See those carrots? All but one cup were from out garden! How cool is that?! This recipe was super easy. All you do is brown the onion and the fresh ginger.

100_1685

Then you add the rest of the ingredients to the pot, bring to a boil, and let simmer for 20 minutes.

100_1686

After that you process the soup with a hand blended or in a regular blender until it is smooth. The recipe suggests serving this with miso but that is another one of those expensive ingredients I don’t find myself using. I sprinkled a little parsley and ground pepper on top. It sure looked pretty!

100_1691

It tasted really good too! Even Brian liked it! There isn’t any milk or cream in this but some how it tasted really creamy. We also didn’t think it tasted like carrots, more like squash. When we harvest more carrots we will definitely be making this again!

While the soup was simmering I also whipped up half a batch of Heather’s Pumpkin Spiced  Granola.  I made a few changes based on my tastes. I used oats, ground flax and pumpkin seeds like Heather did but also added some slivered almonds to the base.

100_1687

For the flavoring I used everything Heather did except I omitted the almond butter seeing as I already had almonds and the nutmeg since I didn’t have any. Mix the pumpkin, honey, maple syrup, and cinnamon in a pot until it bubbles.

100_1688

Then add to your base making sure to give everything a good coating!

100_1689

You bake for 15 minutes then add dried fruit, I chose dried cranberries, and bake for another 15 minutes. Mine turned out beautifully!

100_1693

I topped my morning oats with some!

100_1694

I’ll be making another soup recipe from the Clean Food cookbook for lunch today. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

