2010 Maple Leaf Road Race Half Marathon Recap

Good Sunday afternoon to you! I know I said I’d be back “later” with a post but I didn’t expect it to be this much later! But, that’s a different story for a different post!

Now, the moment you’ve all been waiting for!

100_1435

I had an AWESOME race yesterday! I set my alarm for 5:30am. I ate my normal prerun breakfast of toast, peanut butter, and a banana. I also drank a small cup of green tea and water. I headed down to the park where the race start was. I part a few blocks away so I could get in a little walk as a warm up. I immediately got my timing chip and then stood in line (a very long line!) for the bathrooms. By the time I got out of the bathroom there was only 10 minutes until race start! It wasn’t too cold out about 50 degrees so I felt I had dressed correctly for the weather. I walked around a little bit and then stood with the other runners at the start of the race.

I was inspired by my reading the night before the race so I made and Operation Beautiful sign and pinned it to the back of my shirt!

IMG_1297

The start was kind of odd, there was no gun or horn we just all started running. I tried to maintain a slower pace for the first couple of miles. It took me about 3 miles to really get into the grove. I felt really good the whole time! I kept waiting to hit a wall or to feel tired or pain in my feet but I just didn’t! Once I was over  half way I knew I had it! Once I passed 8 miles (my new favorite long distance) and I still felt awesome I really took off! I saw a lot of people I new from the Y volunteering on the course. It was so great to have their support. It really kept me motivated. So, did having the Operation Beautiful sign on my back. Several people told me they liked it and thanked me. That really kept me going! There were a few hills on the course and I was really glad I had done some hill training I powered right up them, no problem! The last two miles of the course were on the parade route. Not too many people waiting for the parade to start seemed to care and nobody really cheered that is, until the final mile. There was a one mile kids run during the last part of the race and the kids just happened to start as I was passing by. I know the crowd was cheering for them but it really pumped me up. I really put on the speed during the last mile. My mom got some pictures of me heading towards the finish line!

IMG_1294

IMG_1296

I came flying into the finish line and was given a finishers medal by one of the kids from my church! It was such an awesome race! I felt so good and proud of myself afterwards!

IMG_1299  

The official results aren’t up yet but my Garmin said 2:08:32 with an average mile of 9:52!

I’m so happy to report that the 2Toms blister powder worked like a charm! I had no new blisters after the race! I headed home to for and ice bath and a hot shower and then rushed back down for the parade where I saw some crazy sites like these

100_1446

100_1456

And then I thought I’d so a little celebrating!

100_1452 

 

I’ll be back tomorrow with a post about how NOT to recover after a long race! 

6 responses to “2010 Maple Leaf Road Race Half Marathon Recap

  1. Congrats! Awesome time and I LOVE that you had an Operation Beautiful sign pinned to your shirt! I’m hoping to run a 1/2 marathon in the next year.

  2. Awesome! So glad the powder worked. Your pace was amazing, and I love the sign and Operation Beautiful’s message…Caitlyn rocks and so do you! Congratulations!

  3. Pingback: I know I am a runner | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

  4. Pingback: Postpartum Diet and Exercise | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

Leave a Reply

