T’was the Night Before Race Day

Well hello there! Happy Friday to you! I hope you’re weekend is off to a great start.

So, what does a blogger do the night before a big race? Well, bake bread of course!

100_1429

WHAT? I’ll get back that in a moment. I thought it would be interesting to show you what I do the day before a race. First off I got to sleep in until 7am since I didn’t have to work out! Even though it was a chilly fall morning I decided I needed to energize with green smoothie!

100_1417

I balanced this off with a nice HOT cup of pumpkin spiced chi tea in my Barbie mug of course!

100_1420

I had a VERY productive morning at work and then came home for lunch. I had left over meatballs and spaghetti, that was even more delicious on day two! Look what else I ate that came straight from our garden!

100_1421

I cleaned it up and cut it into carrot sticks. Unfortunately it was kind of bitter! After lunch I had to run an errand for work and decided to pick up my race packet!

100_1423

Most of the stuff in the swag bag was advertising but the real prize was the Oktoberfest button. I guess I failed to mention that the race is part of this CRAZY celebration that takes place every year. There is a HUGE parade tomorrow, and the race course pretty much runs down the route. Mostly it’s a time where everyone drinks a lot of beer and acts stupid. I don’t really get into that aspect of it but it is kind of fun to watch! So, the button gets you into the festgrounds and it’s worth about $6! Score!

The T-shirts are really cool too!

100_1422

I love the red color (looks a little bright in this light) and the writing and the emblem are off center one on the bottom left corner and one on the upper right shoulder and then there is writing on the sleeve. Very cool! Can’t wait to wear it to the parade, hope I’m warm enough!

After work I got all my gear together for the race.

GU and Gummy Bears in my fuel belt.

100_1424     

Gatorade mixed up and put in the fridge

100_1425

Clothes, and 2Toms laid out and ready to go. I also pinned my race number to my belt incase I get hot (doubt it) and need to take off my top layer. I also charged my MP3 player, my Garmin, and the video camera.

100_1426

Then my mom and dad picked me up and we headed to the Harvest Dinner down at the festgrounds. I had the vegetarian dish which had squash, zucchini, and huge portabella mushrooms with pasta (times 2!), a lovely salad, and some AMAZING apple crisp (times 2!).

100_1427

Check out the pretty fall decorations!

100_1428 As the sun set and wind picked up it got pretty chilly outside! I hope it’s not too cold for the race tomorrow!

When I got home I immediately changed into sweats. For some reason I had this huge desire to bake something, which is odd because I am not big into baking! I had seen a recipe on Tina’s blog for chocolate chip squash bread. Since my town seems to be out of pumpkin and I just happened to have some already cooked squash (pumpkin is pretty similar to squash right?) in my freezer I thought I’d give it a try! I had to change a few things. We had less than a cup of sugar so I made up the remaining cup with brown sugar. The butter I had looked questionable so I used coconut oil (melted) instead. I plan on eating it after the race. I’ll let you know how it turned out!

I am feeling rather tired which hopefully means I’ll get a good night’s sleep. I think I’ll hunker down in bed with this.

100_1430

After hearing about Operation Beautiful  (even posting a few notes myself) and reading Caitlin’s blog for almost a year now I finally bought the book the other day. I can’t wait to read it!

See you later (much later) tomorrow with a race recap!

5 responses to “T’was the Night Before Race Day

  1. Good luck Kristin! Hopefully it’s not too windy tomorrow morning.

  2. I was chearing you on here in CA – hope everything went well!

  3. Excellent web site you have here.. It’s hard to find high quality writing like yours nowadays. I honestly appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

Leave a Reply

