Mad Woman In the Kitchen!

Good evening friends! Hope you had a wonderful Thursday. It was my day off from my church job but I taught two classes at the Y.

My week has been less busy than the past three weeks. Still not sure why I didn’t post more. Maybe it’s because I’ve been a mad woman in the kitchen when I am home. I’ll admit I have a pretty great husband who does a lot the cooking when I’m busy. This week he was pretty busy getting ready for hunting so it was up to me to make dinner a couple of nights. On Tuesday I made spaghetti squash pie. I use and old Weight Watcher Recipe. Basically all you do is bake a spaghetti squash in the oven and use that as your base in stead of pasta. Then I made my own spaghetti sauce with venison (of course). You top the squash with a cup of ricotta cheese blended with one egg, top that with sauce, and top that with mozzarella cheese and bake the whole thing for 20 minutes. Sorry no picture. While I was waiting for the squash to cook I whipped up a batch of Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili ala Gina at The Fitnessista. This is one of my most favorite fall recipes. Best part is, it’s made in the crock pot! I let this simmer all day while I was at work and enjoyed some for dinner. I also had it for lunch today.

100_1411

One of my work events got canceled due to rain last night so I found myself with some extra time on my hands! I decided to get a jump start on tonight’s dinner by whipping up some meatballs!  I used this recipe I found on Heather’s blog. The only changes I made were using less spinach (because it’s all we had) and baking for only 15 minutes because today I through them in the crock pot with two cans of diced tomatoes, one can of tomato sauce, one can of mushrooms, and some Italian seasoning and let them simmer for half the day. Here they are before I added the sauce!

100_1406

When Brian got home I boiled up some pasta and dinner was done! Sorry I don’t have a final photo. These were SO GOOD! Very easy too! I don’t usually make meatballs and wasn’t sure how they would work out but they were AWESOME! Definitely a keeper! I also whipped up a batch of home made peanut butter last night too. Whew! It’s amazing what you can accomplish on a unexpected night off!

Besides cooking lots of yummy things I have continued my quest for all things pumpkin. Here’s what I found today while out shopping!

100_1412

Cinnamon and spiced pumpkin hand wash! This smells really good!

100_1413

Two kinds of pumpkin beer! The one on the right is Punk’n from the Dogfish Head Brewing Company. I tried this last year and it was my favorite! The other is a pumpkin spiced lager from the Lakefront Brewery in Milwaukee. I haven’t tried it yet! Brian would like you to not the camouflaged floor. I took these pictures in “the man cave” (aka his room) because that’s where the beer fridge is (for obvious reasons). He had already taken the beet down before I remembered I wanted a picture. There were two other pumpkin beer available but since I know I’ll be the only one drinking them (Brian doesn’t like pumpkin isn’t that CRAZY!) I didn’t want to over do it!

I went to two different stores and STILL didn’t find any canned pumpkin! Other bloggers have mentioned that they found pumpkin in their stores but our stores have signs that say they are out due to the national pumpkin shortage! Sad! 

That’s all I have for tonight! I’ll be back tomorrow to post about race preparations! Can’t believe the race is Saturday!

Technorati Tags: ,
4 responses to “Mad Woman In the Kitchen!

  1. I’m glad you liked the meatballs!! I keep meaning to make a big batch and freeze them.
    And I’m seriously jealous of your pumpkin beer 🙂

  2. Lakefront Pumpkin is one of my favorite beers. Yum!

Leave a Reply

