Happy New Year!

Hey there! How’s your Wednesday treating you?! Mine ha been pretty low-key so far but I’m gearing up for my first night of Youth Ministry tonight!

No, I’m not confused about what day it is as my post title might seem to suggest. As you know today is the first of September, it also marks the beginning of the end of the year. Only 4 more months until 2011! Fall also seems like a good time to start fresh, set new goals, or revisit goals we set at the beginning of the year.  I’m not one to set New Year’s Resolutions but as the end of 2010 fast approaches there are some things in my life that I would like to change and I think today is the perfect day to start working on those changes!

To start with I got my hair cut! I haven’t had my hair cut in almost 3 months and it was getting pretty long and bushy. With my hours being cut at work I decided I could forego the $40 every two month hair cut at the salon and find a different option. I decided to try the local beauty academy, Salon Professional Academy. I was a little nervous about a student cutting my hair but figured it was only hair and it would grow back if I didn’t like it. The student who cut my hair was a man, a straight man, married with 5 children! I think this is the first time I’ve ever had a man cut my hair. One thing I really liked about the way the academy operates is an instructor meets with you and the student before the cut to make sure the student understands what you want done and what techniques they should use to  make it happen. The student who cut my hair was VERY meticulous and took a lot of care and time to make sure everything was right. An instructor checked the cut after he was done. He finished up with a few snips and a style and then an instructor signed off on the cut. I was really impressed with the cut and the student I had. My only complaint was it took soooooooo LONG! My appointment was at 9am and I left there at 10:45am! But, you can’t beat the price $10 for a shampoo, cut, and style. I actually rebooked for a another appointment in 4 weeks.

One thing I would really like to work on before the end of the year is getting back on track with my healthy eating. I’m sure you could tell from my Door County posts that healthy eating kind of flew out the window. I have noticed that some of my clothes that fit just fine at the beginning of summer are getting a little snug. This is a sure sign that I am not where I am supposed to be weight wise. For some reason I always seem to gain weight during the summer. I will actually be writing down the food I eat just as a way to see what I’m actually am putting in body. I’ve decided to hand write this as using tools like SparkPeople seem to suck up too much of my time at that computer. I also want to work on cutting down my portions and drinking less alcohol. I do not want to get obsessive about this. I just want to bring about more awareness to how much and what types of food I am actually eating.  Exercise shouldn’t be a problem as I am still training for the half marathon and starting next week will be teaching 3-6 classes a week at the Y. I would like to try to fit some strength training in there as well (one of the classes I’m teaching is Group Strength so that shouldn’t be a problem). With all the extra activity I have to keep reminding myself that just because I’m so active doesn’t mean I can eat whatever I want. It means I need to fuel my body properly in order for it to function well!

So, those are my goals for the next four months. I’ll be sure to keep you posted on them!

Do you set goals at this time of year? What are they?

4 responses to “Happy New Year!

  1. This post is great! I definitely set Fall goals – there is no way I’d ever make it through the holidays without a 10 lb. gain if I didn’t. Trust me, I’ve proved that before, hah! I stopped journaling my food and exercise a while back because I do have big time obsessive tendencies, but I make an honest effort to “keep it real” with portions and intuitive eating. Doesn’t always work when surrounded by such amazing food at all of the holiday get togethers, but I do ramp up exercise a bit. I’ve signed up for several 5k’s to push me through and I’m still walk/running about 30 miles a week. I’m excited for Fall and I smiled reading your other posts – pumpkin butter, YUM! That also reminds me of Fall. Bring on the colder weather, I’m ready!

  2. Pingback: Some Healthy Eats! | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

  3. Pingback: Baby Sneaker:Week 16 Update | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

Leave a Reply

