Awesome Epic Portions!

Hi there! Top of the morning to you! I am taking a rest day from exercise in preparation for my long run tomorrow. I could have slept in but my body is just too use to getting up early. So, I thought I’d do a post!

Yesterday was a day of Awesome Epic Portions! In other words a perfect day! Those days are often hard to come by, especially in the middle of the week!

The day started off with an amazing run! It was only 54 degrees when I woke up! My running plan had me doing hills. There is long hill, about 3/4 of a mile long located about half a mile from our house. If you run to the hill, up it, back down and to our house it’s the perfect challenging 3 mile run! Well, I ran up that bad boy TWICE! The cooler weather made such a difference. I felt so awesome powering up that hill. It must have been a hill training day for a lot of other runners in town because saw about 20 people on my way up and down that hill!

After the run I showered and was just sitting down to catch the news while I ate breakfast. Much to my delight and surprise I saw that there was new to me Glee episode waiting on my DVR list! I was so excited! I’ve only seen the first half of season 1 (the episodes released on DVD) and really would like to see the second half before season 2 starts. I seriously have an addiction to that show! I watched about half of it before I had to get ready for work.

I headed to work which was also very busy and productive. I introduced my boss (the priest) to the importance of using Facebook as a way to connect with the student population. One of my new roles is (self titled) Social Media Director 🙂 I love it! I was able to take a break in my day to go out to lunch with a dear friend of mine who just finished her first year of college. We ate at a bar down the street. It wasn’t the healthiest but the mountain of sweet potato fries they gave me were DELICIOUS!

After work I headed home and watched the second half of Glee. Brian had a doctor’s appointment to head to. I considered lounging around the house reading blogs or reading for grad school. But then I saw Jillian Michels on The Doctors talking about the importance of strength training. So I got off my butt and headed to the Y to pump some iron. I actually didn’t felt pretty good! And I’m not sore today! This is a good thing! I’m glad I did it!

When I got home Brian was back from the doctor. The doctor was very impressed with his weight loss and life style changes and could tell the difference running had made on his over all health. But, due to heredity he still has high blood pressure and high cholesterol and will have to go on meds. Brian seemed okay with this considering he just feels so much better! He even talked about keeping up the running during the winter! Brian made  dinner and offered to do the dishes so I could try to change the bike tire on my “crappy” bike (the one I use to get around town on). I was a little apprehensive as I had only done this twice and once was at the fix a flat clinic I went to. After a little bit of trouble and a quick internet consult I did it! I was so proud of myself!

By this time it was getting pretty late but Brian thought as a way to celebrate our last free Wednesday night together (I start working Wed. nights next week) we should walk to a local ice cream shop and get some ice cream. Who can say no to ice cream?! The shop is about a 1 1/4 mile from our house so round trip we walked 2 1/2 miles. It was fun just walking and chatting plus there was ice cream in the end!

Whew! What a long post! See what an awesome day it was? Well, maybe you don’t but I went to bed last night perfectly tired, happy with my life, and with a smile on a face!

Sorry for lack of photos lately. This weekend we are headed out on one last get away and I promise lots of pictures next week!

On to another great day!

Leave a Reply

