An O.K. Eight

Hey friends! It’s Friday! Yay! Hope you have some fun plans for the weekend.

I really was hoping to name this post “A Great Eight!” but when you wake up at 3am to use the restroom and hear the air conditioning working with all its might you know it’s going to be a rough run in the morning. I was mentally and physically prepared to take on eight miles in the heat. When I got up at 5:30am it was already 80 degrees! I ate a little pre run fuel (banana with almond butter) and took the doggie for a walk as my warm up. While I was walking the dog and listening to the radio I heard the announcer say there was a severe storm warning in the area until 7am. The skies were very dark and the wind was really blowing. I got back to the house and my hubby said, “I don’t think you should run outside in this weather.” I had two options, I could wait out the storm which meant delaying my whole day and possibly working out in even hotter temps or I could suck it up and run on the treadmill at the Y. I reluctantly chose option number 2. Fortunately I was able to get a treadmill near a television that had Good Morning America on (my favorite morning news show). It really wasn’t that bad, just a little more mentally tough then I would have liked. Other than being bored I felt pretty good. I hydrated often and took half a package of GU at mile 6. I did have to talk myself through the last two miles. The only bad part was I got two HUGE blisters on the insides of my feet at about mile 5. I’ve gotten blisters before but on my last long run used Vaseline which seemed to do the trick. Today, not so much. It was super painful those last 3 miles. I must figure out how to prevent this in the future! When I got home and into the show I also realized that I had some chaffing under my arms from my sports bra. I’ll have to figure out how to prevent that too, it is not very comfortable! So over all an okay run. I’m glad I chose to go indoors because the weather was CRAZY out. High winds, flooding, lightening and hail! Plus it didn’t stop storming until almost 10:00am. I ran the eight miles in about 1 hour and 20 minutes keeping a comfortable 10 min/mile pace.

So other than my run this morning I’ve been doing a little of this,

100_1024 

packing for my trip to Milwaukee this weekend. I’m doing an Aqua Zumba training in Franklin Wisconsin (near Milwaukee). I was lucky to enough to have a friend who lives in Franklin about 10 minutes away from where the course will be held who is letting me stay with her. We should have a fun time! I’m driving solo on this one. I’m a little nervous about driving this far as I don’t do much interstate driving and Brian is usually the one behind the wheel. I did get some practice in on our drive home from Colorado. I’m sure I’ll be fine.  Like how Izzy chooses to lay right next to the suitcases? She doesn’t like it when we leave her 😦

I’ve also been doing a little of this,

100_1026

100_1031  These are Angela’s Pumpkin Pie Banana Chunk Oatmeal Cookies and they are OFF THE HOOK DELICIOUS! I made a few changes based on what I had in my kitchen. I used dark chocolate chips instead of the cacao nibs, I used one TBSP of chia seeds instead of the walnuts and I used honey instead of maple syrup. These were super easy to make and taste really good. I’m bringing some with me to the training.

I’ve also been keeping up with all the going on’s at the Healthy Living Summit. Not going lie, I’m a little sad and jealous that I am not there right now. I seriously considered going since it was in Chicago which is within driving distance of my home town (not that I would really want to drive in Chicago) but a few things held me back. For one I didn’t think I could really afford the ticket or the hotel costs. Also it was my ONLY free weekend in August and I didn’t want to fill it up (which obviously I did any way), but mostly I was shy and a little scared. When the info and the tickets sales went out I had just started the blog. I guess I didn’t feel like a real blogger. I don’t even know anyone in my real life that blogs so I would have had to go alone. I didn’t know if I would fit in with the other bloggers or if I would have a hard time making friends. Silly, I know but also true. I’m kind of regretting it now but oh well! If I would have gone to the HLS I wouldn’t be doing Zumba training and hanging out with my friend. I’m sure it all worked out the way it was suppose to!

I still haven’t decided if I’m bringing the computer with me this weekend and I need to start packing the car soon. I might not see you until after my weekend adventure! Have a great weekend!

5 responses to “An O.K. Eight

  1. I’m glad you liked the cookies!
    I can relate to your feelings about HLS. I am shy too and worried what the experience would be like. Luckily it was fun and everyone was nice. Hope to see you next year! I wonder where it will be?

  2. Pingback: All Is Well — Oh She Glows

  3. Pingback: Super 8! | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

  4. Pingback: Healthy Weekend | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

Leave a Reply

