Shake’n and Bake’n

Hey friends! How’s your Monday going? Good I hope! I actually have to work today since we are leaving Thursday for Colorado!

Remember last Friday when I teased you with an unusual picture of something I was baking? Have no fear! I’m here to end the suspense! Here is what I baked

100_0848

 

100_0904

The first item is a Healthy Blueberry Chocolate Glazed Cake I saw on Angel’s blog. I made a few changes to her recipe based on what I had on hand. I actually used frozen blueberries in the cake because I didn’t think I would have enough to garnish it. I also added a banana per her suggestion. I used honey instead of maple syrup because that was what I had. I also used real chocolate chips for the glaze so the cake was not vegan, but almost! My cake turned out a little thicker than Angel’s and that could have been because of the added banana. There were also some weird bubbles on top and a place were the cake sunk in but the glaze covered that up. Shannon and I ate a piece (with ice cream) Friday night. I thought it was pretty good. It is definitely healthy, not very rich at all and still gives you a hint of sweetness. It was actually super easy to make too!

The second baked good is a Three-Grain Chewy Energy Bar from Emily. The jury is still out on this one. I followed the recipe to a “t” The picture I showed on Friday was the batter coming up to a simmer. These taste kind of like banana bread but have a really strange texture. I still can’t decide if I like these or if there is anything I should add to them to make them more to my liking. They are definitely better chilled. They are just really spongy. They are really filling though. I’m not sure if I would make them again, I’m going to have a hard time eating them all by myself and I’m not sure they will travel well. Oh well! It was a fun experiment!

For both recipes I bought coconut oil. I’ve seen this used in a lot of recipes in the blog world but have resisted buying it for over a year seeing as it is so expensive and I wasn’t sure how I would use it. I saw what I thought was a pretty good price on it at Wal-Mart so I thought I’d give it a try. I can’t say that I really notice a taste difference. Maybe I’ll have to hunt around and see what else I can use it for!

Well, I hope you week is off to a great start!

One response to “Shake’n and Bake’n

  1. I’ve been wanting to try Emily’s Energy Bars too… interesting feedback, now I want to see for myself. The first time I bought Coconut Oil I had to ask where it was, took the clerk a good 5 minutes to find it. You are right, it’s $$$ good to know Wal-Mart has a good price on it.

Leave a Reply

