Open Doors

Howdy! It’s Wednesday, half way through the work week! Hope your day is going splendidly! I sure am appreciating a nice quiet week here at the office (never thought I’d say that!).

So, what’s been new with me? Not much really. The husband has been cooking dinner for us since I’ve been home later than usual the last couple of nights. I taught a ROCK’N Zumba class last night and was dripping with sweat when it was all over! This morning was the first time since the mission trip that I had to get up EXTRA early to teach Group Cycling. Again another awesome class, a lot more participants than I expected. Maybe they thought that since class was indoors it would be cooler. It wasn’t! This has really been one hot summer! But on the plus side I always feel like I worked out harder when I’m covered in sweat!

I didn’t really mention this on the blog because I’m not exactly sure who is reading this (why don’t you post a comment some time?) and it wasn’t really public knowledge at the time but now I think it’s safe to talk about it. About two months ago I received the news that my hours at the church I work at were going to be cut down from full time to 3/4 time. Technically the portion of my job that deals with Campus Ministry was being cut from 1/2 to 1/4. This was due mainly to the lack of student involvement as of late and of course money. There’s a lot more to it then that but I prefer not to go into to it. Initially I was going to tell my boss (the priest) that I would prefer to work 1/2 time because I really didn’t see how I could make up the income with an outside 1/4 time job. After discussing exactly what my role would be and what type of hours I would be working I decided to stick with the 3/4 time option, it is after all more money and I really didn’t have anything else lined up as far as work goes. So, I told the Y to put me down for as many  classes as they needed me for (during the times I’m free). I still haven’t gotten a schedule from them but hopefully I’ll be teaching a lot there this fall. Recently I got a call from a gal who owns a dance studio in a near by town. She was looking for fitness instructors to lead classes offered at the same time as the dance classes so that the parents would have something to do. I figured this was a great opportunity and offered to teach three classes a week! I’ve also been looking into teaching at the technical college and at the local hospitals for their employee wellness programs.

I am really going to have my plate full this fall. I’ll either end up  being super fit or going crazy! It’s all good though. I really didn’t think that teaching fitness classes would provide me with substantial income, it was more of just a fun hobby that I got paid for. We’ll have to see how it all pans out and maybe I will be cutting back to 1/2 time at my church job! I just hope I still have time to train for 1/2 marathons and triathlons!

So that’s what’s new with me! In other news, I stepped on the scale this morning (first time after being back from my trip). Let’s just say it wasn’t pretty! But, that’s a post for another day!

We’ve got a fun weekend coming up and I can’t wait to share it with you!

2 responses to “Open Doors

  1. Pingback: It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year! | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

  2. Pingback: Obsessed! | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

Leave a Reply

