Summer Recipes Part II- A New found love!

Hit there! I’m writing this just after I posted my previous post. I’m going to try and delay this post until tomorrow but I’m not sure if it will work!

Remember awhile back when I shared my breakfast fail with Vegan Overnight Oats? I mentioned that I’d be tweaking them and I’ve been doing just that. The other day I made the most heavenly Overnight Oats! I have done away with the idea of trying to make these vegan. I used:

  • 1/2 C Old fashioned Oats
  • 1/2 C Plain fat free yogurt
  • 1/2 C skim milk
  • 1 tsp of cocoa powder (surprisingly low in calories!)
  • 1 TBSP agave nectar
  • 1 tsp of ground flax seed

Using yogurt really helped to thicken the mixture up and the cocoa was a good addition.

Then, because I had time I made strawberry banana soft serve! This was divine! And pretty too!

100_0319

All I did was freeze a banana and some washed and chopped strawberries the night before. Then I threw them in the food processor. They took a little longer than I expected to turn into soft serve but it was well worth it! Layered with the oats and a little shredded coconut this was the perfect breakfast on a hot summer morning!

100_0323

This was also more filling than the VOO. It does take a little time to make in the morning. This morning, because I had to get to class early, I made Overnight Oats in a Jar (mix it up in an almost empty peanut butter jar) and brought it to class. My classmates were very curious as to what I was eating, so I had to explain!

If you haven’t given over night oats or banana soft serve a try this summer I highly recommend both, together or separate! Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

