Where have you been?!

Hello! I know it has been so long since I posted! I can’t even believe it! I was doing so good posting at least once a day and I even had some good ideas for things to write about too! Life just got really crazy after the last time I posted!

On Saturday we celebrated Father’s Day at our house by having my parents, my in-laws, my brother and his girlfriend, and Brian’s brother, his wife, my two nieces, and their dog (Izzy’s sister Winnie) over. It was great fun but took up most of the evening. Sunday morning I got up bright and early to sing at church. After church I got ready to head to grad school which was every day Sunday-Wednesday from 12:00pm-8:00pm! It was totally intense yet wonderful! The course I took was an ethics course so we spent most of the day discussing Plato, Aristotle, Bentham and Kant. My brain was fried my the end of the day it was all I could do to go home and just veg out in front of the television. I didn’t work when I had class but my mornings were filled with workouts, a coffee date with an old friend, a meeting with my boss, and just plain getting caught up on little stuff around the house. I really had no time to post. And the fun isn’t over yet! I start another 4 day, 8 hour per day course next Tuesday! Honestly I really love my classes. True they are intense but I get so much out of them. I just might be a little absent again from posting that is all.

In my previous post I mentioned my plan for getting back to a healthy weight. So far it has been going really well. Even though there were a lot of tempting treats at grad school and dinner was provided for us each night I made some healthy choices and was able to enjoy a few indulgences. I’ve been keeping pretty close tabs on my calorie intake and what I’ve burned. Just to give you an idea of how things have changed since triathlon training:

Triathlon Training

Calories burned per week: 4,000-5,000

Calories consumed per day: 1,800-2,200

Now

Calories burned per week: 2,000-2,500

Calories consumed per day: 1,200-1,500

It was pretty easy to cut back on my exercise. On days when I strength train I generally don’t do any cardio so I’m only doing cardio 4 times a week versus 6-7 times a week. The only thing I miss is the variety. I really want to focus on running so if I’m not teaching a class I usually run which means I haven’t biked or swam much ( or at all!) since the tri. It has not been easy cutting back on food intake! I just love to eat so much! I really have to watch my portions and am keeping pretty close tabs on my calories. The good thing is I  do not physically feel like I need to eat a lot. It seemed like when I was training I was hungry all the time!

So that is what’s been going on in the world of healthy living for me! I’ll leave you with some pictures my friends sent me from my bike trip to Lanesboro.

I love this picture of me and my bike, before the trip began!

P5110163[2] (2)

At the end of the day enjoying a beer!

P1000291[1] (2)

 

I can’t believe this little town has a tattoo shop! It wasn’t open, and Lynette wasn’t going to get a tattoo! From left to right: Lynette, Jean, Nancy, me, Anne (I think, I might be getting Anne and Jean mixed up, they were only with us for the last half of the day).

P5110179[1] (2)

Jackie had us pose outside this old fashioned food cart. I love it!

 P5110180[1] (2)

Hope you enjoyed the pictures!

p.s. I missed blogging!

Leave a Reply

