2010 Got Energy Triathlon Recap

 

Hey everyone! Thanks for all the support this morning! I think I could feel you good vibes out on the course!

Overall everything went really smoothly! I felt prepared and ready to go. I got a pretty good nights sleep and woke up at 4:30am. I headed down to the basement to do a 20 minute hip opening yoga podcast from YogaDownload.com. I ate a nice filling bowl of oatmeal, with homemade peanut butter, a banana, and egg whites whipped in at the end. Then it was time to leave. Brian and I packed up the car and headed to West Salem. On the way there we saw a fellow racer pulled off on the side of the road. His bike had fallen off his bike rack and was laying in pieces all over the ditch! I’m not sure how he managed it but he did race.

We got to the race site with about an hour to race time. There didn’t seem to be a lot of people there yet. They body marked me right away as I entered the transition area. I got my transition area set up fairly quickly.

PICT0008

PICT0009

Then I headed over to the swim start to get my timing chip. I kind of wanted to get in the water but the volunteers were still getting the kayaks in the water and finishing up safety preparations. They had us line up according to how fast we thought we would do the swim. I was in the 30:00-32:00 area. Then they said, “Go” and sent us off into the water one by one. It was kind of nice not going in big waves. It gave you a chance to really get use to the swim without having someone kick you in the face or having to swim over someone. I felt pretty good during the swim. I had a hard time getting into a good rhythm because I kept having to stop and look up to make sure I was going the right way. The buoys were pretty far apart and I didn’t want to swim farther than I had to. Before I knew it I was at the shore and running up to the transition area.

   swim 1

I had no trouble getting the wet suit off and transitioned nicely to the bike.

IMG_1097

IMG_1100   There were not many people racing the Intermediate Distance so when I was out on the bike I sometimes felt like I wasn’t even racing because no one was passing me and I wasn’t passing anyone else. It was at this point that one of my “worries” came true. I REALLY had to go to the bathroom! It didn’t feel too bad on the bike but I knew there was no way I would be able to run if I had to go that bad. I’ve heard that the real hard core racers go to the bathroom on the bike but I just couldn’t do it! Despite having to go the bathroom the entire time. I felt really strong on the bike. I was estimating that I would finish the bike in 1:45 but I did it in 1:25! Before I knew it I was heading back towards the transition area.

IMG_1103

I made a quick transition and then headed out for the run.

100_0201

I know I look happy but my feet felt a little odd from the bike, my legs did have that familiar “brick” feeling AND I still had to go to the bathroom. I looked around during transition for a port-a-potty but no luck. I had a feeling it was going to be a very long run if I didn’t do something. Fortunately part way into the run I saw a port-a-potty. I really didn’t want to hurt my time but there would have been no way I could have run that whole way feeling like I did. I ducked in and out as fast as I could. It made all the difference in the world! I felt really great after that. The run was a loop and the intermediate racers did it twice. I saw lots of people I knew from the Y as we looped back and forth. It was fun cheering other people on and getting encouragement from the other athletes. Towards the end of the run, like the beginning of the bike there weren’t very many people out on the course so I kind of felt alone. The volunteers were AWESOME and kept cheering for us the whole time. I finished strong!

IMG_1141

IMG_1149

IMG_1153

My official time was 2:58:06. My swim was 28:32, T1 2:26, Bike 1:25:40, T2 1:26, Run 1:00:01. I came in 4th in my age division. The woman who placed 3rd’s time was only about 3 minutes faster than mine. I really don’t think my potty stop cost me a 3rd place finish but now I have a good goal to work towards for next time!

Brian and I went out for pizza and beer, the beer went straight to my head! I then came home and took a quick nap. Other than that I’ve been hanging out on the couch and doing laundry.

I feel pretty good, a little sore and tired but other than that pretty good! We’ll see how I feel tomorrow!

I have a TON of other pictures thanks to my dad, and my brother. Brian also took some video. I hope to put a video together soon to share with you some more highlights!

Thanks to Brian, my mom and dad, my brother, his girlfriend Raina, and our friend Gary for coming out to cheer me on!

One response to “2010 Got Energy Triathlon Recap

  1. Pingback: In Training for??? | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

Leave a Reply

