Ready? Set?

Hey there! How’s your Saturday going? Mine has been pretty low key and I am liking it!

We had a great night with Brian’s friend Joe, his daughters, his girlfriend Jen, her little guy, and Joe’s parents. Joe bought a mega camper (more like a motor home) and came up from Iowa to camp right along the river. Everyone fished and we are some delicious “camp food” (brats, burgers etc.).

I got a great night’s sleep and even slept in until 8am! This is definitely a good thing. The training book I used said to get a good night sleep the 2 nights before your triathlon because you most likely won’t get a good night’s sleep before the tri.  I did a short little brick workout today just to loosen up my legs, make sure everything was feeling good, and to ensure that my bike was working well. It felt REALLY easy and I definitely felt like I could do more which is a good thing since I’ll be doing A LOT more tomorrow. I then went about packing my transition bag for tomorrow. (Please note there is a sheet on our bed because a certain big yellow dog like to sleep on it and I don’t want it smelling like a dog!)

100_0194

Swim

100_0195

Bike

100_0196

Run

100_0197

And more!

100_0198

Tomorrow to the race I’ll be wearing

  • My tri-suit
  • A sweatshirt (if it’s cold)
  • My running shoes (you have to park at the high school and ride your bike to the transition area)
  • Socks
  • Bike helmet

I’ll be carrying my backpack which contains

  • Wetsuit
  • Swim cap
  • Goggles
  • Towel
  • Flip Flops (to walk from the transition area to the swim start)
  • Bike Shoes
  • Sunglasses
  • Bike gloves
  • Race belt with race number on it
  • Extra socks
  • Extra pair of goggles
  • Extra swim cap
  • Extra fuel
  • Water bottles (2 with water one with Gatorade)
  • Mini-Camera

Now I just have to make sure Brian has the cameras in his “spectator bag” and we’ll be good to go.

My plan for tomorrow is

  • Wake up at 4:30am
  • Do a short 20 minute yoga session to wake up my muscles
  • Eat a fueling breakfast of oats, milk, banana, nut butter, and egg whites.
  • Leave the house by 5:30am
  • Get to park by 6:00am to set up transition area/get body marked/ get timing chip
  • Between 6:20 and 6:30 get in water for quick warm up
  • 6:50 line up for swim start
  • 7:00 Start!

I do have a few worries. One is eating. As you can see I plan to eat breakfast pretty early, I hope it holds me over. I plan on taking in some GU either before the bike or half way through the bike depending on how I feel. I’m also worried about my hair (silly I know!). By hair is at a weird length. I can put it up but it takes a lot of clips. I need to make sure that what ever I do holds up during the swim, fits under my bike helmet, and stays put during the run. I think I have it down but you just never know, my hair seems to have a life of it’s own! I’m also worried about going to the bathroom. I always seem to have to go to the bathroom a lot in the morning and when I’m nervous or excited. I know once I get that wetsuit on I won’t want to take it off to go to the bathroom. I’ll just have to time everything out right. If I don’t get a warm up swim in I’ll be okay too.

So that’s it! Do I seem ready to you? I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

