Blah!

Hey friends! Well, we made it to Friday. Unfortunately I’m having a case of the Friday blahs! Unusual for me, I know!

It all started out last night. I noticed that my eyes were darker and puffier than normal. My allergies have been really bad this spring. I thought I good solution to my problem would be to take two Benadryl before bed. This was a huge mistake. Usually if I take Benadryl during the day I feel totally groggy and just want to sleep. I figured this would work fine as I was going to bed any way. I quickly fell into a deep sleep but woke up several times during the night disorientated and groggy as ever. When Brian got up to go to work I totally planned to get up with him and start fueling for a long run. When his alarm went off I felt like I had a hangover! It was awful. It was also pouring rain outside and I knew running for an hour would not be fun. I decided to go back to sleep. When I finally did wake up it was 7:30am and I still felt sleepy. I had zero energy! I thought a giant green smoothie would perk me up, it didn’t. I still haven’t been able to shake this groggy feeling. Couple that with the fact that this has been my office for the past four days

100_0594

100_0595

 

100_0596 

I just want to go home and climb under the covers. I hope that it’s just allergies and I’m not getting sick or something. I hate having no energy.

There was one perk to my day:

Cookie Friday!

I was saying to Brian yesterday, “Why don’t we have any cookies in this house?” His reply was, “Because we’ll eat them!” He’s right. When a rare box of cookies or a gift of home made ones makes its way into our house they don’t last for very long. Angela had a 3 minute vegan cookie posted on her site. She linked it back to a post Tina did awhile back. I did a combination of the two to make my own:

Vegan Oatmeal Raisin Cookie

 

  • 1 flax egg (1 tsp. of ground flax seed combine with 1/8 C of water, zapped in the microwave for 20 seconds)
  • 1/4 C Oats
  • 1/4c tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • 2 tsp.  whole wheat flour
  • 1 TBSP Raisins

Mix all the ingredients together in a microwave safe bowl. Pat down flat to make the shape of a cookie. Microwave for 45 seconds. Pop out of the bowl and eat!

100_0599

This was the perfect solution to a cookie craving! It was really big, soft, and gooey. I got to eat it all by myself! And it was pretty healthy too!

147 calories, 2.5g fat, 4g of fiber, 5g of protein. Not bad at all, very satisfying!

Before I sign off for the day I just want to mention this new blog I found called Be In The Game. They review all different kinds of gear and equipment for many sports. Their writers are real people who are sharing their passion for sports and well as other things. Check them out!

I’m going to try and get a swim in after work, call it and early night, and hopefully get in my long run tomorrow morning before we head off to a wedding reception. Have a good weekend!

Leave a Reply

