Loving Lentils!

Howdy blog world! What’s shake’n? Not too much new over here! I’m on day 3 or working in my temporary office (a.k.a. the church basement). I miss the sun 😦

So as promised here is my “Kristin Dinner.” Since I knew the husband wouldn’t be home I made something I knew he would not be keen to try. I sort of adapted this recipe from something Angela posted on her blog awhile back but with my own spin!

Lentil Spaghetti Sauce

 

1. Take 1C of rinsed lentils and add to 3C boiling water. Let simmer 30-40 minutes. I did this in the morning while I was getting ready for work.

100_0564

The lentils will serve as my “meat” in this recipe.

2. I treated them just as I would ground venison (beef) and sautéed the cooked lentils with a little garlic.

100_0566

 

3. Then I added one can of diced tomatoes and one can of tomato sauce. I added oregano, basil, a pinch of sugar, and a pinch of cinnamon (this is my secret ingredient).

100_0567

I let that simmer for about 10 minutes while the past cooked. I served it over whole wheat spaghetti noodles with a Arnold’s sandwich thing topped with garlic salt and cheese (plus a glass of skim milk you can see in the background).

100_0572

The verdict: I really liked this! It was very tasty and filling. BUT since I am not a vegetarian I think I prefer my spaghetti sauce with ground venison. I would like to try making another type of recipe using lentils. If anyone has  any good ones out there send them my way!

I sure am glad it’s almost Friday! I have a long run planned for tomorrow morning and then if the husband is busy I might try and squeeze in a swim after work. I skipped my swim this morning and taught a Group Strength class for another instructor  instead. I figured I was still getting in the strength training!

Hope your day is FABULOUS!

Technorati Tags: ,,
Leave a Reply

