Breakfast Fail?

Hey friends! Half way through the week huh? Come on weekend get here already!

So, I’ve been meaning to try something new for breakfast. A few times a week I seem to get home from the gym later than usual and I feel rushed to make myself a wholesome breakfast like oatmeal or a green smoothie. I thought I had the solution all figured out. Around the blog world I’ve been seeing a lot of over night oats. The way it works is, the night before you combine oats with plain yogurt (most seem to use Greek style) and milk and then set in the fridge overnight so the oats soak up the liquid. You can add mix-ins the night before too like cinnamon, coconut, fruit. In the morning you take out the oats and add any toppings you like. I’ve also seen a lot of Vegan Overnight Oats lately. Now, mind you, I’m not vegan but for some reason we don’t keep very much yogurt in the house so I thought a variation of VOO might work for me. The change you need to make with VOO is not using yogurt as it is an animal product. If you are vegan you would use some type of milk alternative like almond milk or rice milk. Since I’m cheap not vegan I thought I would use some almond milk and mostly cows milk. The next trick is to add something that will thicken the mixture.  Angela uses chia seeds to thicken her mixture but I didn’t have any on hand (I actually don’t by these as they are kind of pricey). Ashley used flax meal (which I assumed was ground flax seed) which I did have! So last night I mixed

  • 1/2 C Old Fashioned Oat
  • 1/3 C Vanilla Almond Milk
  • 2/3 Skim Milk
  • 2 TBSP of Ground Flaxseed
  • 1 TBSP Unsweetened Coconut

I was pretty excited to try these this morning and thought about them the whole 40 minutes I was out running (okay maybe not the whole 40 minutes!). Angel and Ashley both layered their VOO with banana soft serve. If you haven’t tried it you simple must! All you have to do is freeze a banana over night and throw it in the food processor, blend until smooth.

100_0556

To this I added a TBSP of creamy peanut butter, a pinch of cocoa powder, and a splash of almond milk. Then I layered the banana soft serve with my almost vegan over night oats.

100_0558

(Sorry for the crappy picture). I’m not sure what I think of these. I LOVED the addition of the banana soft serve but I probably wouldn’t make it if I was pinched for time. The oats themselves did not seem very thick. Ashley only used 1/3 C of oats so maybe I need to try that next time. I just thought 1/3 seemed like not enough to fill my hunger. The oats themselves did not seem sweet enough to me, maybe I should have added maple syrup of agave. The main trouble was I got hungry a lot earlier than I normally do. Somehow I need to add more protein to these. I’m not calling them a fail but I just need to tweek them to fit my satisfaction level and time constraints.

That’s all I’ve got for now. The husband won’t be home for dinner so I am planning on making a Kristin style dinner (aka something I know he’ll never eat). I’ll be sure to post about it tomorrow! Have a good Wednesday!

2 responses to “Breakfast Fail?

  1. I tried overnight oats with Greek yogurt and I thought they weren’t sweet enough. I added pumpkin butter and it helped. I definitely will try the banana thing for sure!

  2. Pingback: Summer Recipes Part II- A New found love! « The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

Leave a Reply

