A Mexican kind of night

Hey friends! How’s your Saturday going? It is BEAUTIFUL here! All around town I see parents helping there children move out of their apartments since the Universities in town are out for the summer. Our town is about to get very quiet for the next three months. I have nothing on my agenda today except for fun things! But first as promised here is my enchilada adventure from last night.

Venison Enchilada’s

If I haven’t mentioned it before my husband is an avid hunter (avid doesn’t really begin to describe him). My motto is, “there’s always something to kill.” We generally don’t buy any meat and only eat what he brings home. It wasn’t really difficult for me to get use to eating venison. The way we cook it I can barely tell it isn’t beef. In fact eating beef actually gives my tummy problems. However canned venison does look a little gross.

100_0489

It is rather handy though as it is already cooked. All I have to do is warm it up in a sauce pan.

100_0493 

Once it is warmed I add some taco seasoning, salsa, cheese and a little water letting it simmer.

100_0497 100_0500

Next it’s time to fill the tortillas but first a very important step, I got this trick from my handy dandy Betty Crocker Cookbook. First you dip the tortillas in the enchilada sauce, this gets them nice and mushy and flavorful.

100_0501

100_0502  

Then you fill the shell with the meat mixture.

100_0503

You fold and roll the tortilla and place in a greased baking dish. At this point my hands got pretty messy so I couldn’t take any more pictures. Here is the finished product.

100_0505

Sprinkled with cheese.

100_0509

Bake for 20 minutes at 350 degrees. Don’t they look delicious when they come out of the oven?

100_0515    Here’s my plate with some salad, I also went back to a second enchilada!

100_0517

So there you have it! Maybe not the healthiest meal since I used flour tortillas but venison is low in fat and I use reduced fat cheese. It’s a heck of a lot cheaper than going out for Mexican AND we have tons of leftovers (I made 10 in all).

Well, it’s about noon now and I’ve already taught group cycling and Zumba. To fuel up for that crazy insane work out I had the most delicious green smoothie! It had

  • 1 C skim milk,
  • 2 C Spinach
  • 1/4 C Lemon juice
  • 1 orange peeled and cut up
  • 1 C frozen pineapple
  • a splash of vanilla almond milk

100_0524

This was so good! It tasted like and Orange Julius! I rarely put oranges in my smoothie but I might have to start doing it more often. I also had an egg white puff (for protein) with hot sauce on an Arnold’s sandwich thin.

100_0521

This totally kept me going through almost 2 hours of teaching classes! Well, I gotta get this stinky body in the shower and then eat lunch. Tonight is Girls’s Night! I am super pumped! Some of us are starting out at Wine Guyz a local wine bar that I have NEVER been to! Then we’re headed to Buzzard’s Billy’s (remember we went there a few weeks ago with Gardner?). It should be a blast and the girls have been warned that my camera will be coming with! Other than that I have no plans!

Hope you’re having a great day!

Leave a Reply

