Tried to tough it out

Hey everyone! How’s your Tuesday going? My has been pretty good except for my morning workout!

So, if I haven’t mentioned it already I work full time at a church. Not just any church, a Newman Center which means we are the Catholic Church associated with a public University. It’s finals week here, a week that both brings joy to my heart (because I know summer will be coming soon and my work load will be lighter), and a sinking feeling in my stomach. We do our students a great service by allowing them to use our space to study. We also provide them with food and beverages and leave our building open late so they can study as long as they need to. Someone needs to stay here and make sure the coffee is brewing, the snacks are plentiful and to lock of the building. My colleague and I take turns watching “the house.” Last night it was my turn. It really isn’t that bad. I have my laptop, some books, some knitting and basically just sit here. The only problem is it messes with my whole sleep schedule. Last night I didn’t get to bed until 12:30am (very late for me!). I slept in until about 8:00am. I still wanted to get a workout in before heading to the office so I fueled up and headed to the Y. I started the Peak Phase of triathlon training which mean I changed up my strength training exercises and boy were they hard! Single leg squats?! Push ups on the stability ball?! Are you kidding me?! I made it through just barely and then needed to run for 40 minutes. I planned to run on the treadmill since the crappy weather we usually have in March is now here in May. I got on and could tell this was going to be tough. I tried for 5 minutes, then I stayed on for 10 minutes. Then I told myself that if I still felt like it was too tough after 20 minutes I could quit. Well,20 minutes couldn’t come fast enough! I don’t know if I was over tired, underfueled, dehydrated, too hot, just plain mad that I was inside running for the first time in months?! It was awful. I felt kind of guilty for getting off early but I just couldn’t do it. There is definitely a reason the training plan pairs strength training with swimming and not running. It’s just too difficult.

So, that was my morning! Other than that work has been pretty quiet and I don’t have to work tonight. I just hope I can get to sleep early tonight so I can get up and teach cycling tomorrow.

With all my free time last night I created a new page! The Best of the Girl With the Pink Sneakers I read through all my posts since the end of January and picked out some of my favorites and even organized them! I know I haven’t been blogging for very long but it was fun to reread some of my posts and see how I started adding more pictures. I hope you enjoy!

Have a great night!

Technorati Tags: ,
Leave a Reply

