Back in Action

Hey there! Sorry for the lack of posting yesterday. I just sort of unplugged for awhile. Always a good thing to do.

We had a lovely mother’s day brunch at our house with both my mom and mother-in-law, plus the dads, and my brother and his girl friend. Can you believe I didn’t take any pictures? Crazy right? I did take a few shots before I left for church. You see, both of the dishes I cooked were made in the crock pot.

100_0469

I got bother recipes from Stephanie’s cookbook. I made the over night egg bake and pancakes. The egg bake burned a little on the edges but everyone said both tasted great! My brother’s girl friend made FABULOUS blueberry bread pudding. I really wish I would have taken a picture of it! It was so good!

Remember the baby robins that came to nest right outside my kitchen window? By this weekend I could tell that they were getting a little too big for their nest.

100_0459

One by one on mother’s day they all left the nest.

100_0471

They were so cute hopping around our yard. I really was fascinated watching them this spring.

Today I did my loooooooongest brick workout to date. I road 90 minutes and then ran 15 minutes. My bike ride was so HARD. It was really windy out! I was headed into the wind for most of the ride. I really had to work hard. I pretty much road the exact route of the triathlon. It was fun to venture out on a new road but heading into the wind I sure felt weak and tired. When the wind was at my back I felt like I was in cruise control! It was really tough. I totally made up for it with the run. The whole time I was riding I thought “How am I ever going to run after this?” But I started running and was maintaining my normal pace. Then I just started to pick it up, I mean it was only 15 minutes after all. A few times I glanced down at my Garmin and saw my pace had dropped below a 8:00 mile (just barely)! It rocked. So when all was said and done I felt like I had a good workout! I think I have two more workouts like that planned before I taper!

Well, that’s all I’ve got for now. Hope your week is off to a good start!

Leave a Reply

