Be prepared!

Hi folks! Here’s to the start of another week! I just got back from a lovely bike ride but more on that later!

In an effort to clean up my eating yesterday I prepared a bunch of healthy eats for the week ahead. First up a GIANT salad!

100_0193

Chopping all the veggies makes a nice easy go to meal for lunch or a nice side with dinner. Then I made something I’ve been longing to make for awhile now, Tabouleh. You start out with a grain that is very near and dear to my heart, bulgur.

100_0190

I LOVE bulgur and have a nice container just sitting around my house. All I did was boil 1 1/4 C of water add 1 C of bulgur to the water, remove from heat, cover, and let stand for 25-30 minutes or until all the water is absorbed. While you wait for the bulgur to cook you can chop your veggies. I had 2 tomatoes, 1 cucumber, and bunch of green onions.

100_0195

Add one can of drained and rinsed garbanzo beans. Then add the cooked bulgur.

100_0197  100_0198

Mix it all together and add 3 TBSP of lemon juice, 2 tsp of olive oil, garlic powder, chili powder, dill, mint (just a little), salt and pepper to taste.

100_0202

Besides prepping food and doing the laundry I did a whole lot of NOTHING yesterday. The hubby and I rented some movies and hung out in our jammy pants all day. It was GLORIOUS! I needed a day of rest like that!

Don’t worry, I’ve made up for it today. I taught cycling at 6am this morning. Then I went home drank a quick green smoothie and got to work on the house. Monday is usually my cleaning day and clean I did! I even scoured the kitchen garbage can, yuck! I also practiced some Zumba songs and brushed out the doggie.

Don’t worry I had some fun in there too. Part of training for any event be it a triathlon or a 5K run is practicing and being prepared. You want to try and mimic what it will feel like on race day. I mentioned last week that I bought some gear for my bike. 

100_0209

I wanted to attach the bike pump and install the water bottle holder before my long ride this weekend so I could see if they got in the way of anything when I biked (like my leg brushing against something). I also wanted to try my new tires out. After a few searches on the Internet just to make sure I knew what I was doing I successfully installed both. Now my bike is ready to go!

100_0214 100_0212

100_0210

Even though I had already taught cycling, cleaned like a madwoman, AND did a little dancing for Zumba I thought I’d take my bike for a little spin down the marsh trails near our house and a long the river. It is such a beautiful day and I knew it would be a nice easy ride.

PICT0107

PICT0108    It ended up being about a 35 minute ride, 7 1/2 miles. Very nice and I felt good that I got to “practice” with all my new gear.

Well, I better jump in the shower, I’m a sweaty mess after all that! Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

