Extra Green!

Hi there! Are you having a good weekend? I am!

I had an AWESOME swim yesterday. For the past 5 weeks I have always done my swim workouts after a strength training session so my arms are not that fresh. What a difference having fresh arms made yesterday! I felt like I could fly through the water. It was kind of strange teaching cycling afterwards. I didn’t really feel sweaty because my skin was still damp from the swim. About half way through the workout I really had to go to the bathroom! Swimming is a diuretic and water naturally gets pushed out of your body when you swim. Plus I drink water while swimming to stay hydrated. I just had to keep teaching. I was also STARVING when I started class which I knew was not a good thing. I ate a snack bar right after class and then stopped for a green tea latte at a coffee shop.

I also met up with my very good friend Marianne and her mom for lunch and shopping! It was so much fun. I got 4 tops, a jacket, and a pair of dress shorts all under $100! It was fun but exhausting. I had to go to work later in the evening. When “the boys” got home from their Saturday adventures they were pretty tired too and didn’t want to go out so we just ate left over pizza.

I feel like I have another confession to make. Remember when I decided to join SparkPeople? If not you can read about it here. Initially I was doing really well tracking my calorie intake and what not but lately not so much. I even managed to shed a few pounds, now I’m back where I started. I guess I need to get over the fact that just because I’m in training doesn’t mean I can eat whatever I want and however much I want of food. SparkPeople does an excellent job adjusting your calorie intake to your activity out put. I burn about 3500-4500 calories a week (this week I’m thinking I’ll burn 5000 with the bike tour!).  So I GET TO eat a lot of calories. But, I tend to go over my calorie goal ALOT. Do I want to be “skinny”? No. But I do want to be at a healthy weight and I’m not right now. The dressing room mirrors didn’t lie yesterday. I also want to eat food that will fuel my body for these crazy ass workouts I’m doing. So, this week I’m recommitting myself to better eating. I know it will help me to feel my best.

As far as eating goes today is starting out on the right foot! Look what Gardner brought me!

100_0175

I bought a sample pack of this awhile back but never ordered any (you can’t buy it in any stores here). Since Gardner lives in the Twin Cities he picked some up for me at Whole Foods. Some of the benefits of Amazing Grass

  • Increases energy and boosts immune system
  • Detoxifies and cleanses your body
  • Fast acting absorption of energizing and alkalizing nutrients.

You can read more about Amazing Grass on their website. I used it this morning to make a VERY GREEN smoothie.

100_0187

My smoothie contained

  • 1 C skim milk
  • 2 C spinach
  • 1/4 C lemon juice
  • pinch of cayenne pepper
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp of ground flax
  • 1 banana
  • 1 orange
  • 1 packet of Amazing Grass

So good! I feel ready to go! I have to head off to work in a bit, then I might hit a yoga class later. It’s gloomy and cold out today. Glad I had my picnic last Sunday.

Hope the end of your weekend goes well!

2 responses to “Extra Green!

  1. Love Amazing Grass products and love green smoothies!! 🙂

    Yum!

Leave a Reply

