Make it with Millet!

Hey everyone! It’s Friday! Yay! It’s been a heckofa week over here! I am ready for a fun weekend! I don’t have any “extra” work obligations just my regular Saturday night and Sunday morning gigs. Plus my hubby has a friend coming to town ( remember Gardner from our weekend adventure?) AND I have friends in town too. Should provide for some good times!

I’ve spent the morning at work cooking lunch for some students. I sort of made up my own potato soup recipe. Sorry, no pictures I left the camera at home. I was pretty darn proud of myself since I usually have to follow a recipe to the “t” when I make something.

Last night I did cooking experiment number 3. Millet black bean burgers from the Clean Food cookbook! I had never used millet before and found it for pretty cheap in the bulk bins at the Co-Op.

100_0136

It kind of reminded me of a mix between cous cous and quinoa. First I had to toast it.

100_0140

Wow the evening light in my kitchen is really bad! Then I had to let it simmer in some water for 25 minutes. While I waited for it to cook I drank one of these

100_0143

Yum! I also had to saute an onion and some spices and then mix with black beans and corn. Then I mixed in the cooked millet and some cornmeal.

100_0144

I formed a few patties with the mixture and fried in a frying pan with some olive oil.

100_0150

I cut the recipe in half because I knew I would be the only one eating these and I wasn’t sure if I would like them. The full recipe was for 10 but I got 7 out of just half the recipe. I ate two “burgers” with a delicious salad!

100_0155   These were really tasty! I may have gone back for one more burger while watching TV 🙂 They were also pretty easy except for having to wait for the millet to cook they didn’t take much time either. I will definitely make them again.

I took my  bike over to the shop and found out I need to make an appointment for a tune up, they are booked until May 10th! I better get on that. They also told me I could install the air pump and the water bottle myself. Score! I saved some money. Oh wait! They looked at my tires and said they were dry and going to crack and fall apart! So, I had to shell out $60 for new tires plus labor! Ouch! I also bought some GU and other fuel type products to try on my long rides and brick workouts. I’m a little nervous because the first time I’ll have a chance to try the new tires will be the 30 mile tour I’m doing next weekend. I might had to take her out for a spin before than.

Well, that’s all I have for now! We’re planning on taking the hubby’s friend to a cool pizza joint down the river. I’ll be sure to bring my camera! Have a good weekend!

Technorati Tags: ,,
Technorati Tags:
One response to “Make it with Millet!

  1. Pingback: We’re Really Cook’n Now! | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

Leave a Reply

