It all started out so well

Hello! I am so glad it is Wednesday and not Tuesday any more! I had a HORRIBLE day yesterday. I sat down late last night to blog about it and then, just to add to my already rotten day, my computer would not transfer my pictures from my camera. I shut the computer down and decided to call it a day, before anything else terrible happened. If you know me in real life you know that I am a pretty easy going person. Not a lot of things bother me. I also like to have control over situations. I maintain this control by being super organized and planning ahead. Yesterday I messed up something HUGE and it all went downhill from there. But let me back up and start at the beginning  because my day actually started out pretty good!

I woke up at 5:10am and was at the gym by 5:30am to start my workout. I had on my training plan a strength training session and a 30 minute swim planned. This week I transitioned from the base phase of triathlon training to the build phase which means my strength training program changed. This one was A LOT harder than the previous phase. Today I am so SORE! Ouch! My 30 minute swim rocked too!

By the time I got home I was STARVING. I knew just the breakfast I was going to have. After hearing about it in the blog world for months I just had to try OATS IN A JAR. Here’s my take on OIAJ. Ever wonder what to do with those empty nut butter jars? I mean there’s still some nut butter left in them right? Why should the dog get lick out all of that tasty goodness?

102_0088

So, you make your oats just like you normally would. Yesterday my oats consisted of:

  • 1/2 C Vanilla Rice Mile
  • 1/2 C Water
  • 1/2 C Old Fashioned oats
  • 1 banana
  • cinnamon
  • 2 egg whites whisked in at the end (I needed the protein1!)

I cooked the banana along with the oats and it made the oatmeal SO delicious! Especially when I put the oats back into the jar and got to soak up the rest of that delicious almond butter!

102_0089

So good! You must try this!

Then I went to work. I don’t usually write about work on the blog so I’ll spare you the details. But, I messed up something BIG that I am totally in charge of. When I discovered my mistake I literally felt my blood pressure rising and got that sick feeling in my stomach. It was terrible. The worst part about it was I was the only one putting on the pressure on myself. I told my co-worker what happened and she assured me that everything would be okay. She said we don’t get paid to make sure everything is perfect. We get paid to think on our feet and make things happen even in sticky situations. I put some things in motions that will hopefully help remedy this mistake.

When work was done I was so looking forward to teaching Zumba. I just knew that dancing would take my mind off things. When I got to the Y, I got all set up, plugged my MP3 player into the sound system and it didn’t work! Again, my blood pressure began to rise and panic set in. I had NO music. I had about 20 minutes until class started. I raced out the door, hopped on my bike (because why would I drive?) and peddled like crazy. To the surprise of my husband I came bursting through the door and ran through the house to the office area. I hooked up the MP3 player hoping to  fix my problem, I grabbed my cases full of CD’s just in case and raced back out the door (I drove back this time). I made it back to the Y with 5 minutes to spare and my MP3 player now worked. It was nuts! For someone who doesn’t like chaos my whole world seemed to be crumbling down! Zumba went really well and I did feel better afterwards.

My dear husband cooked dinner and washed all the dishes to help ease my day. I even took a nice bath to soak the craziness away. It was just one of those days. I don’t have them very often but they sure do stink!

I did manage to complete another kitchen experiment last night but I’ll save that for a different day! I’m glad it’s a new day and I feel ready to take it on!

Hope life is good where you are!

Leave a Reply

