Contemplating 30

Hello! Hope your Monday is going well, I know how tough getting back into the swing of things can be! I have been having a busy day “off” as well. I taught cycling at 6am and then rocked out on the treadmill doing a speedy 10 minute run. I went home and cleaned the casa including cleaning out the fridge! I have to take the doggie to the vet, then meet with my spiritual director, then grocery shop with the husband. Good times!

So, now that I’ve had a few days to get use to the fact that I am now officially in my 30’s I’ve been reflecting on my past a lot. I’ve actually been thinking a lot about what life was like for me 10 years ago when I turned 20.

When I turned 20 I was a sophomore in college attending a small Catholic college in my home town. I lived on campus in an apartment with 2 seniors who were also in the same program as I and another friend of mine who was also a sophomore. I worked part time at a call center taking phone orders for expensive bedding.  I had been doing Weight Watchers for the 2nd time, had already lost some weight, AND was training for my first triathlon. I can remember my mom bringing a birthday balloon into a cycling class she new I was attending on my birthday (see, I’m still working out on my birthday). I feel like 20 was where my journey to health and fitness really took off. I had never run, and barely knew how to bike. I never dreamed I’d be able to do a triathlon let alone continue to be addicted to them 10 years later.

Yet, so much still hadn’t happened to me yet. I hadn’t fallen in love, I didn’t even know my husband, I hadn’t worked in “the real world”, I had never lived away from my home town. I never even considered running a half marathon. I didn’t have a clue how to cook. I definitely didn’t know what blogging was (did blogging exist 10 years ago?). There were so many wonderful people who are now a part of my life that I had never even met.

I don’t remember being a particularly confident young women. I knew I didn’t have all the answers. But my world was very narrow. The concerns and troubles I had that consumed me now seem like drops in a pond. I never even thought about what being in my 30’s would look like.

Now that I’m here and have the gift of hindsight I am looking to the future with such hope. I am confident in who I am. I know that this next decade will be filled with new experiences, and new people. I know life will throw challenges my way but I know I have what it takes to make it through. I want to make an effort to celebrate life and the gifts it offers. The gift of my health and well being and the ability to share that with others. The 30’s are going to be great!

Here are some pictures I found from when I was in my 20’s. I actually had to scan them in!

I am so proud of this picture! I am also so glad that my friend Darick (pictured center) had some one take the picture. This was my FIRST EVER 5K race. I had only been running for about 4 months. I have no idea what my time was but I know my goal was to run the entire way and I DID IT! The gal on the right is my roommate Reagan. I still wear that windbreaker when I run!

 scan0001

  This is me towards the end of my sophomore year. I remember I was taking Actuane (a potent acne drug) that made my eyes dry out so much I couldn’t wart contacts (hence the glasses). I obviously got a hair cut and some highlights.

scan0004

This is me the summer I did my first triathlon. A group of women at the YMCA who helped each other (including me) train for the triathlon held a big party with a DJ. We’ve been talking about doing this again since it’s the 10th anniversary that we formed the WAC-Y (Women’s Athletic Club at the Y). I was feeling pretty confident with my new body, even wearing a halter top to show of my arm muscles! Note I am wearing the same necklace here as in the photo above. Funny!

 

scan0006

Leave a Reply

