We interrupt your Friday afternoon for…

A very IMPORTANT announcement! As promised I’m here with a fun announcement. Yesterday I signed up for the Walt Disney World Half Marathon on January 8th 2011! I am SUPER pumped! I know, I’ve barely begun triathlon training but I just had to get the ball rolling on this. Actually it was my friend Amy’s husband who got the ball rolling. Last weekend when we were all hanging out in the Dells he said, “Is anyone interested in going to Disney World next January? I went last year when my mom ran the half marathon and we got to stay at a pretty nice, affordable condo.” Immediately my ears perked up. I was pretty inspired by Katy and Caitlin who ran the Disney half and full marathons this past January. Growing up my family and I were pretty big Disney fans. I went to Disney World 7 times between the ages of 2 and 22 and Disney Land in California twice during that time. I just thought it would be really cool to run through the parks and complete a half marathon at Disney World. I’ve done a half before but it was awhile ago and I’ve always wanted to try another one. Ryan (my friend’s husband) called is mom and chatted about it. She said if I wanted to do it I should sign up ASAP since it usually fills up. This for me is kind of a big commitment. I don’t write about this on the blog but my husband and I struggle with infertility. For about the last year of my life I’ve been saying (out loud and in my head), “I don’t want to commit to this in case I might be pregnant at that time.” Well, I’m tired of living that way. Time to seize the day! I sent out an email to my friends seeing if they would want to go down to Disney and watch me run the race and then play in the parks. They were all for it. I even got one of my other friend’s husbands to run the race too! I’ll be sure to keep you up to date on all my training and what not for that! It’s going to be fun!

I honestly couldn’t believe I was signing up for a half yesterday when I could barely get out of my office chair without extreme pain in my lower back. When I got home I took the doggie for a looooooooong walk and did 20minutes of yoga. My back felt the best it had all day. Today I got up, was able to do my strength training workout and swam 30 minutes. My back isn’t 100% better but at least it’s not screaming in pain every time I get up. I think the main problem is sitting all day at my desk. I’ve been pretty on the go today. One more reason to hate a desk job!

Well, I have to clean up the kitchen and then head out to the mall to use some more Victoria Secret coupons and maybe look for Easter dress again!

Have a great Friday!

Leave a Reply

