Cooking Experiment: Miso

Hi folks! I’m back! Wow! It feels like a long time since I’ve blogged! Our “secret” adventure this weekend was to The Wilderness Resort in Wisconsin Dells. We went there to surprise my friend who turns 30 this month! She was really surprised. There were 5 couples in all and 4 couples stayed over night in a big condo. We did the indoor waterpark thing all day on Saturday and then just hung out and played games in the condo at night. Sunday we got up packed up and headed out. I managed to get a 40 minute run in on Sunday morning. The indoor gym was pretty crappy! Every time I tried to adjust my speed on the treadmill the whole thing would stop! Very frustrating! I wished I would have brought outdoor running gear since their was a half mile paved paved loop right outside out condo. Oh well! I didn’t take too many pictures as my camera is being a pain. The pictures I did take I was told can not be posted on the web 🙂

We got home at about noon which gave me plenty of time to do some experimenting in the kitchen. I bought this book at Christmas time and had yet to make any recipes out of it!

100_5117

The book is divided into seasons and as it seems spring has sprung I decided to check out some of the spring recipes. I was a little nervous because some of the recipes called for some pretty strange ingreients. Both of the recipes I made yesterday called for miso. From the book,

“Miso is a living food that gives recipes a salty, rich flavor. The darker the miso, the longer it has been fermented.”

I easily found the miso at the local Co-Op

100_5124 The first recipe I made was Green Goddess Dip. Here are all the ingredients I used.

100_5123  I made some modifications from the original recipe. First of all I didn’t want to spend a TON of money on unique foods I might not use again. I also believe the author was trying to create vegan recipes and since I am not vegan I could make some substitutions. Here’s the list of ingredients with my modifications in bold

  • 12oz extra firm silken tofu
  • 3 scallions chopped
  • 3 TBSP of fresh cilantro or parsley chopped (I used cilantro)
  • 1 TBSP maple mustard (I had to get creative here. I used 1 1/2 tsp of mustard and 1 1/2 tsp of maple syrup)
  • Juice of 1 lemon (I added about a TBSP of bottled juice)
  • 1 TBSP brown rice vinegar
  • 2 tsp of white, mellow, miso
  • 2 tsp of brown rice syrup (I used 2 tsp of honey as brown rice syrup appears to be a vegan option to some type of natural sweet syrup)
  • 3 TBSP of extra virgin olive oil

The directions are super easy. Process tofu until smooth (I LOVE my food processor thank Ma Johnson and Julie for the AWESOME Christmas present)

100_5125

Add the rest of the ingredients and process until smooth. Add water to obtain desired consistency. I kept about half of the mixture really thick and the other half I watered down for dressing.

100_5126  100_5128

The result: This was VERY good. Very unique too. I’ve never tasted anything like it. The miso gives it a very sweet and salty flavor. I put some of this on a veggie sub from Subway and it was really good. I also like that it has protein from the tofu.

While I worked I sipped on this new brand of Kombucha I discovered.

100_5118

It was pretty tasty and a bit cheaper than my regular brand!

100_5122

The second recipe I made was Cream of Asparagus soup. I LOVE asparagus and anything creamy. I was curious to see how this could be made “healthy.” I cut this recipe in half because a. I didn’t buy enough of some of the ingredients and b. I wasn’t sure  if I would liked it. The ingredient list I’m giving you is for the full 6 servings.

100_5130 

  • 2-3 bunches of asparagus (about 6 cups chopped)
  • 2 TBSP extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves minced
  • 3 leeks, white parts only, chopped
  • 1/2 C of rolled oats
  • 3 cups of rice milk or soy milk (I used almond as it was on sale)
  • 1/2 tsp of dried dill
  • Sea salt and white pepper to taste
  • 1 tsp of white mellow miso per serving

Remove tough ends of asparagus. Wash the remaining spears and chop into 2 inch pieces. Set aside

Saute the garlic and leeks in olive oil until soft. Add the asparagus, oats, milk, and dill. Add enough water to cover the asparagus. Bring to boil. Reduce heat, cover, and simmer for 10 minutes. Remove from heat an cool slightly.

Puree soup with handheld blender. (I do not have one of these. So I cautiously put the soup in my Magic Bullet and pureed). Season with salt and pepper. Dissolve miso in just enough water to make liquid. Stir into each serving.

Note: Miso is added to each serving rather than to the full pot so you can reheat left over soup without destroying miso’s living enzyme.

100_5132

100_5133

This was also very good! I might have pureed it a little too long. It was so thin you could drink it! But it tasted good and filled me up! So there you go! Two healthy and energy giving recipes. I’m hoping that later this week I can make my own granola!

Well, it’s only 11am and I’ve already taught cycling, ran 1 mile, practiced Zumba, cleaned the house and now blogged! I just have to remake the bed. Then I’m going to shower, enjoy some leftovers for lunch and hit up the mall! The husband saw an add for a $24 Black & Decker blender at Target and he said I should buy it! They also had some cute dresses on sale. I’m also going to try and buy something to fix my camera! Have a good week!

Technorati Tags: ,,
3 responses to “Cooking Experiment: Miso

  1. Earth Fire Products’ miso is made in Viroqua havn’t tried it yet but i think i will

  2. Pingback: We’re Really Cook’n Now! | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

Leave a Reply

