Triathlon Training Day 1!

Well folks, it’s the day I’ve been waiting for. The official start of my triathlon training. Sorry I haven’t been able to get a page up with my training plan. I have it done in Google Docs and can’t figure out how to get it on my blog!

I started my training with not only my first bike ride of the year but also my first brick workout of the year too! In case you don’t know what a brick workout is it is when you do two sports back to back usually biking and running. It’s called a brick workout because you legs feel like bricks! I like that this training plan has you do brick workouts right away. I use to wait until about a month before the triathlon and do brick workouts once a week. I probably should have saved this brick workout for later in the week as the plan called for but time (it’s my day off) and weather (it’s a beautiful 57 degree day here) were on my side. I got my road bike out of the basement, pumped up the tires and took off. I did a nice 52 minute ride, just under 11miles. Then  I transitioned to the run and ran about 10 minutes, a little over a mile. I actually felt really good on the bike and the run was just as I remembered, painful at first but then I got use to it. I got to use the multi sport function on my Garmin which tracked each individual sport as well as my transition time and the total time. It was pretty cool!

Unfortunately training day 2 might not be as successful. I have planned a strength training workout followed by a 30 minute swim. My strange injury that I developed after my run with Izzy is still bothering me. It has moved out of my neck and back and taken up residences in my shoulder/deltoid. It’s less painful than yesterday which is good but I still don’t think I should push it. I don’t want to sustain a injury this early in the game! Not to mention I’m teaching Zumba tomorrow night where I’ll be using it too, I just don’t want to chance it.

I hope you enjoyed the part 1 of my adventure this weekend. They’ll be more to come late tonight!

Leave a Reply

