Really Shaking Things Up!

Howdy! Happy Thursday, almost Friday right?! Well, it’s another beautiful day here, almost 40 degrees but not quiet.

Today I woke up at 5:30am to hit up a Group Strength class at 6am. When my alarm went off the thought of going to that class did not thrill me. I haven’t been to that class since before the Indoor Ironman Challenge but I just didn’t feel like going. I’ve been getting super pumped about training for my Intermediate Distance Triathlon in June and have been reading a lot about training plans which in include strength workouts. The book outlines a progressive plan that changes things up as you move through your phases of training (base phase, build phase, peak phase, and taper phase). I decided I wanted to try the base phase workout and see how long it took me. According to the training plan you do weights and 30 minutes of swimming on the same day. I just wanted to make sure I had time for both. Overall the workout took me about 45 minutes including a 5 minute warm up. I’m sure since it was my first time doing it and I had to really think about things it took me longer then it will normally take me. It was pretty simple to follow. I definitely learned that I am a lot stronger then I think. The Group Strength classes that I teach and take work on endurance by using lighter resistance and more reps (think BodyPump without the brand name and music tracks). The type of strength training I did today was just the opposite. I initially picked weights, based on what I use in Group Strength. I thought would be challenging by my last few reps but really weren’t. I’ll definitely have to step it up! It was really fun. I use to strength train by myself all the time. I would pay for a trainer for a few sessions, have them set me up on a plan, and follow it. I feel confident that I could set up my own plan now using my fitness knowledge and all the resources on the web. I didn’t feel like I got much of a workout though. I didn’t sweat much and it didn’t seem hard. Maybe my muscles will tell me a different story tomorrow!

Early toady I  read this article from Real Age’s website. Just in case you don’t have time to read it it talks about the benefits of pumpkin seeds. I remembered that I had some at home and thought I would try them out on my lunch time salad. Let me tell you! They were so delicious! They added a lot to my salad. I only used about 2Tbsp and that seemed like a lot! So tasty! I highly recommend them!

My experiment with SparkPeople is going well. I’m learning a lot about the types of food I eat and where I need to balance some things out. I do have one “beef” with the program. Yesterday I went over my recommend carb number by like 5 grams. The program suggested that I eat less sweets. Hmmmmm…. it seemed to me that the only “sweet” I ate was one Dove Dark Chocolate Square. Sure I might have been a little heavy on the fruits (good carbs right?), and maybe I could have skipped that piece of yummy bread with dinner but still! I guess what I’m saying is I would like more realistic feedback. In reality it’s a computer generated program not a person so I guess I’ll just deal with it!

That’s all I’ve got for now! I’m looking forward to the weekend, we’re going to 2 local plays and my brother is in one of them! I’ll be sure to post about them later! Have a good one!

P.S. If you happen to be a SparkPeople member my user name is Pinksneakergirl come find me and be my friend!

Leave a Reply

