Work’n it Wednesday

Hello friends! We are still having B-E-A-U-T-I-F-U-L weather here, definitely flirting with 40 ! For sure we will see that 40 degree mark tomorrow!

Not really much to post about today. Wednesdays are usually my loooooooong day at work (we’re talking 12 hours here, I’ve got about 4.5 left to go!). I started off the day teaching a 6am cycling class which was fantastic! When I work out in the morning I usually don’t take time to eat a proper meal. I’ve been grabbing these little beauties as I head out the door

100_4727

Sorry for the blurry pictures! These are called “energy bites” They sell them at my local Co-Op. They have all sorts of good stuff in them like seeds, nuts, coconut, banana chips and so much more. They’re pretty tasty too! Unfortunately I have no idea what their nutritional value is. I haven’t been writing them down on SparkPeople. I just grab three and go. They prevent me from wanting to eat my arm off when I get done with a workout!

After I taught my class I did about 10 minutes of core work and headed out the door. Look who’s changing it up at breakfast time:

100_4777 That is some LOADED oatmeal! I’ve been a strictly plain, instant oatmeal, in the microwave kind of girl for a long time. I recently read some blogs where people were whipping egg whites into their oatmeal for added protein. I figured out the only way to do this is on the stove top so I thought I’d give it whirl! My LOADED oatmeal contained:

  • 1/2 c old fashion oats
  • 1/2 c water
  • 1/2 c rice milk
  • 1/4 canned pumpkin (added about half way through)
  • 2 egg whites (whipped in at the end)
  • a pinch of salt, some cinnamon, and some vanilla

I topped it with

coconut, pecans, a banana, ground flax, and mixed in some agave syrup.

It was DELICOUS. My main goal in this experiment was to get more protein in my breakfast and to see if this would be more filling. It was in fact filling! I didn’t eat lunch until almost 1pm and didn’t even have a morning snack!

I am wearing the same jeans I wore a few days ago that made me feel uncomfortable and now feel okay! It’s been good to be more conscious of my food in take as well as trying to balance some nutrients. I think the core work will help too!

That’s about all I got for now! Hope you’re having a good Wednesday and remember we’re half way to Friday!

Technorati Tags: ,,
One response to “Work’n it Wednesday

  1. Pingback: Day off doings! « The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

Leave a Reply

