Confessions of a diet addict

Hello friends! I don’t know about where you live but where I live it is GORGEOUS! It’s sunny and 36 degrees (for people in Wisconsin this is considered a heat wave) and it looks like we’ll hit 40 by the end of the week! I feel so much better after last week’s crazy business at work and this more spring like weather!

Remember yesterday when I said I had some “news”? I guess it’s really more like a confession. If you read about my weight loss roller coaster (part 1, part 2, part 3, part 4, and the end) you know all about my struggle with weight and my recent break up with Weight Watchers. It’s true that I have not gained any weight since quitting but lately I’ve noticed that my jeans have not been fitting well. I have felt extremely uncomfortable wearing them while seated. I’m not sure if it’s because I haven’t been working on my core strength or what but I just don’t feel confident about my body right now. That to me is a HUGE red flag. I’ve also caught myself eating to the point where I feel uncomfortably full, and it is not good. With the upcoming Olympic Distance Triathlon I want to be in my best shape ever! So, yesterday I joined SparkPeople. I actually felt kind of guilty/worried about it. I really don’t want to go back to that girl who is obsessed with counting calories. I am trying to approach this with the mind set that I am using SparkPeople as a way to monitor myself because obviously I am struggling with monitoring myself on my own. I’m going to try to not get too worked up about my daily calorie goal. Yesterday I went over the calorie goal that they set but I also burned about 900 calories (according to SparkPeople) teaching two classes and walking the dog so I still had a deficit. I’m going to try and not get too wrapped up in numbers and deficits. I won’t be writing about my daily calories in or out, and I’m not going to post my weight loss because this is not what this blog is all about. It’s about making healthy choices for your life, not being skinny! Ultimately my goal is not to be skinny it’s to feel good about myself and be healthy. Truth be told I’m not at a healthy BMI anyway and that’s a little concerning to me but again BMI is just a number! I will be writing about the process, how I feel about it and how effective it is for me. I’ve heard a lot of good things about SparkPeople and the best part is it’s FREE!

It’s very interesting to see what all my seemingly healthy choices add up to. Already I’m learning that I’m a little heavy on the carbs and lacking in protein. I hope to balance this out to help with my training.

Speaking of training I picked up a GREAT book from the library entitled  The 12 Week Triathlete. I’ll be making up a training plan shortly and posting it here. Official training starts in 2 weeks and I am so pumped.

Today I didn’t run on the treadmill as I intended. I did two awesome yoga sessions from YogaDowloand.com My body was just really sore after teaching two classes yesterday and running around like a mad woman. I already took the doggie for a walk this morning and plan on getting out and enjoying the sunshine again after work. Spring is in the air that is for sure! Have a great day!

Technorati Tags: ,,
Leave a Reply

