Fasting?

Hello! Happy (Ash) Wednesday to you! For Christian religions around the world this day signifies the beginning of Lent, the 40 days before we celebrate the death and resurrection of Jesus at Easter. I know I don’t talk about religion a lot on the blog but this has to do with food also! For Catholics (and I am Catholic by the way) today is a day of fasting and abstinence. Abstaining from meat and only eating 1 large or 2 small meals day. To be honest I have never done the fasting thing. I find not eating meat to be no big deal but I do not like to miss a meal, I do not like getting hungry, I like to fuel myself on a regular basis. I decided this Ash Wednesday to try and do the whole fasting thing. I figured I was going to yoga over the lunch hour so it would be no big deal. Let me tell you this is tough! Right before I went to yoga I got a little hungry but I usually don’t eat before yoga so no big deal. By the time yoga was over, and I was changing clothes I began thinking about what delicious lunch I had brought to work and how good it would taste but then remembered I’m not eating lunch today. I got back to the office, popped some gum in my mouth, and filled my water bottle, still not to bad, that was, until a few moments ago! My stomach is rumbling and feels so “empty” and I’m starting to get a headache. I think it’s a good thing though. I’m not promoting fasting as something to do regularly but it’s good to feel hungry and to be in touch with those hunger signals. I rarely ever let myself get to the point of a grumbling stomach, I try to eat when I start to feel hungry which because of today I know is right on  track. The hard part will be tonight when I do eat my second meal, not over doing it. For the sake of religious purposes I think I’ll be fine!

Usually for Lent we give something up, something we indulge in frequently. Last year I gave up Facebook! This year I’m adding something: more prayer and reflection time. I’m also going to try and reign in my eating a little more. I won’t eat meat on Fridays (per the Catholic tradition), I won’t eat desserts unless it is a special occasion. We frequently have events with food where I work and they always involve dessert for some reason I just think I have to have some, I don’t. I won’t drink alcohol unless it is the weekend or a special occasion, I’ve been indulging a little too much in regular, evening glasses of wine!

A lot of other bloggers out there are having their readers “Ask them anything” and then answering the questions on their blog. I know I’m not a well established or widely known blogger but I thought it would be fun if we tried this! I also thought it would be a good way for me to get to know who my readers are! So, leave me a comment and ASK ME ANYTHING!

Have a great day!

One response to “Fasting?

  1. Pingback: Get out and run! | The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

Leave a Reply

