Weight Loss Roller Coaster:Time to get off the ride!

Howdy folks! How’s your Monday going? I hear that some people have off today since it’s President’s Day. I have off but that’s because Monday is normally my day off. Unfortunately I have to go to a meeting later tonight for work!

Have you been waiting all weekend for the end of my weight loss story? I know you have! (Just kidding). If you missed the rest of my journey read part 1, part 2, part 3 and part 4 here!

So, it’s been about 3 months since I quit Weight Watchers. Honestly, I think this time it’s for good. I couldn’t really tell you why either. I don’t mean to badmouth WW, really if I never would have joined this journey to health wouldn’t have started. I don’t weigh myself every day, or every week now. I try to do it about once a month. I haven’t lost any weight but I also haven’t gained any weight.  The truth is I LOVE FOOD! I do! I really do! But I also like to feel good physically and I know what foods to eat to make me feel good and fuel my fitness habit. I plan on keeping up with my exercise habit until I physically can’t. I just can’t imagine not exercising. My exercise routine goes through changes too. Sometimes I’m heavy on the running, Zumba or weight lifting. I’m sure once all this snow melts I’ll be on my bike. I just like training for things and seeing the amazing things by body can do, things I never though possible. So as of now I eat to try and fuel my workouts, try to eat as clean as possible and don’t deny myself anything. Some things I know I need to work on are portion sizes and listening to my hunger signals. When something tastes so good it’s hard for me to stop eating, even if I’m full.

Am I afraid that I might gain back A LOT of weight? Yes! I just used WW for support for so long it’s hard not to think like that. I do monitor my weight but I also monitor how my jeans fit. If they start to feel uncomfortable it’s time to reevaluate my eating.

Would I like to be at my “skinny” weight again? Sure! Who wouldn’t? But, I also have to ask myself if being at the weight means obsessing over  every bite of food that goes into my mouth and denying myself food then is that what I really want? No!

Do I feel self conscience about my weight? I do sometimes. Especially when I teach a fitness class. I often think, “Will the participants take me seriously since I’m not skinny?” But then I also think about how when I had instructors who weren’t “perfect” how that made me feel more comfortable and kept me coming and working out. Despite not being super skinny I still give my participants a good work out!

The reason I decided to write about my journey started with a compliment I received a few weeks ago. I had just finished teaching back to back Group Strength and Zumba classes on a Saturday. A woman who has known me through all my ups and down on this roller coaster ride said to me,

“Kristin, you’re the fittest you’ve ever been.” That really meant a lot to me. It’s true, I never thought that I would be teaching fitness classes 3-4times a week, or running 5-6miles on a regular basis. I may not be the “skinniest” I’ve ever been but I’m fit, and I’m healthy, and I’m happy!

Have a great week everyone! I have another doozey of week at work. Hopefully I can post a couple of times, I’ve got lots of ideas to write about!

 

3 responses to “Weight Loss Roller Coaster:Time to get off the ride!

  1. Pingback: Confessions of a diet addict « The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

  2. Pingback: Letting go of the girl that use to be, embracing the beauty of who I am today! « The Girl With The Pink Sneakers

  3. Pingback: Anne’s Roller Coaster Ride With Weight Loss (Part 3) » Jennifer Marquez

Leave a Reply

